Crystalbeds Blog

Delta state: How well do you know Nigeria’s Big Heart?

Delta State was created during the regime of General Ibrahim Babangida in 27th August 1991. it was formerly known as Bendel State.

Also known as “The Big Heart”, it has about 11 major towns with Warri as its biggest commercial city. Other major towns include Agbor, Ughelli, Oleh, Ozoro, Oghara, Sapele, Koko, Burutu, Okpanam and Ogwashi-ukwu.

Endowed with a rich cultural heritage, there are various festivals are held in the state (This will come in another post).

However, there may be hidden facts you may not have known about this wonderful state. Today on Crystalbed’s blog, we will acquaint you with all you need to know.


The state was created from the former Bendel State in 27th August 1991

It started with 12 local government areas. They were split further into 19 local governments on September 27, 1991, and to 25 in 1997.

Warri is the biggest commercial city in the state. Other major towns are Agbor, Ughelli, Oleh, Ozoro, Oghara, Sapele, Koko, Burutu, Okpanam and Ogwashi-ukwu.

The estimated population of the state is about 4.2 million with Urhobo, Itesekiri, Ijaw (also known as Izon), Isoko and Anioma as the main ethnic groups.

They have similar ancestral and traditional administrative systems. These can be seen in the way they dress, speak, as well as their festivals, music etc.

Delta state is blessed with lots of mineral resources. These include: Crude oil, Industrial clay, kaolin, tar sand, decorative rocks, limestone, etc.

These raw materials are used by different industries to make bricks, ceramics, and also in the production of bottles, glass, chalk, decorative stone cutting and quarrying.

The incumbent governor is Dr Ifeanyi Okowa.

Tourist attractions include: Abraka Turf & Country Club, Kwale Game Reserve, Lander Brothers Anchorage, Mungo Park House and others (There’ll be a seperate post for this soon)

April 25, 2019 at 10:46 am

Write a Review